Art is a hands-on field, and the words schools use for flexible formats are loose. "Online", "low residency" and "hybrid" are used differently from one school to the next. This guide gives the definitions we use on this site and shows how real programs word them. It does not say that any program is suited to you, and it does not suggest that you can finish an art degree without attending anything unless the school says so explicitly.
Our definitions
These are working definitions for this directory; a school may use the words differently, so we also record its own wording.
Fully online. All instruction, assessment and any required events take place remotely, and the school states that no on-campus attendance is required. Treat this label cautiously for studio disciplines; look for the explicit statement and read the fine print on exhibitions, exams and equipment.
Low residency. Most coursework happens remotely, but the program requires you to attend in person for defined periods called residencies. Attendance is required. A low-residency program is therefore not an online program. What matters are the residency's frequency (each term, each year), its length (days or weeks), its location, and the cost of travel and lodging.
Hybrid. Online or distance teaching combined with scheduled in-person elements. The mix is set by the school: a hybrid program might meet in person weekly, monthly or only in summers. Ask what must be done on campus.
On campus. Teaching is mainly in person, perhaps with some online elements.
How real programs word it
Texas State University's MFA in Communication Design calls itself a low-residency program. Its pages describe courses that are mostly online, with classes meeting one evening a week on video call, and a "multi-day on-campus residency" each semester, with critiques, lectures, workshops and exhibitions. The residency is held on the Texas State campus in San Marcos, Texas. The FAQ states that attendance at each semester's residency is required. It does not give the length of each residency or list residency or travel costs, and it notes that out-of-state students pay out-of-state tuition even though courses are delivered largely online. The program is over 60 credit hours and takes on average about three to six years depending on course load.
Teachers College, Columbia University describes a hybrid Master of Arts in Studio Practice for Art Educators: 32 credits combining online coursework with two six-week summer residencies on the New York campus, where students do studio work, plus a capstone exhibition. Full-time students can finish in as little as 14 months including both residencies; part-time students take about 28 months. The page says international applicants cannot apply. Whether it leads to a teaching credential is not stated on the page; the school directs you to its admissions office.
Both programs are real examples of what we mean by low residency and hybrid: online coursework, but required physical presence. Neither is "online-only".
What to check before applying
- Residency frequency. Every term, every year, or only at the start and end?
- Residency length. A weekend, nine days, six weeks? Can you take that time off work or care duties?
- Location. Is it on a campus you can reach, and is it the same every time?
- Travel and lodging. Does the school help, or are they your own cost? Budget using costs beyond tuition.
- Equipment and materials. Will you need studio space at home, specialist tools or software?
- Schedule of live sessions. Weekly evening video classes, as Texas State describes, may be hard across time zones.
- Assessment. Are crits, exhibitions or exams held in person?
- Tuition differences. Some schools charge the same tuition irrespective of residency; MassArt, for example, says most graduate programs charge a per-credit rate "regardless of residency", meaning home state. Check your own school.
- Fees. Technology, lab or program fees may be added on top of tuition.
International students and remote study
Rules for non-citizens vary. A program that is mostly online but requires travel for residencies may mean visits on a visitor or short-term visa, or may require a student visa, depending on the country and the program. We do not give immigration advice. In the UK, for instance, GOV.UK says that to apply for a Student visa you need an offer from a licensed student sponsor, enough money and English ability; the official pages and the school's international office can tell you whether your plan fits. Teachers College says its hybrid MA does not accept international applicants, so eligibility can be limited by citizenship even for partly remote programs. See studying art abroad.
When a flexible format may not suit
Flexible does not mean easier. You may lose daily access to shared studios, workshops and peers, and some disciplines depend on equipment you cannot keep at home (kilns, presses, darkrooms). Weigh that against the benefit of remaining in your job or home. We do not recommend a format; we only say what to ask.
How we label formats
On this site we do not call a program "online" unless the school's page says no attendance is required. When the school describes residencies, we say "low residency" or "hybrid" and note what it states about attendance, and we say when it does not state something.
Return to choosing an art school and read MFA versus MA for degree distinctions.
Official sources
- Texas State University - MFA in Communication Design: FAQs · accessed 23 October 2026
- Texas State University - MFA in Communication Design: Program overview · accessed 23 October 2026
- Teachers College, Columbia University - MA Studio Practice for Art Educators (hybrid) · accessed 23 October 2026
- MassArt - Tuition and fees · accessed 23 October 2026
- GOV.UK - Student visa · accessed 23 October 2026